Logic: Ancient History

I had a very difficult time finding the right balance of history resources and literature. I liked so many different packages, including but not limited to Beautiful Feet, Sonlight, Winter’s Promise, Mystery of History, Story of the World, and Veritas Press.  The end result became a mix and match of all of these things.

Let me preface this by saying, I neither subscribe to the old earth or the young earth theory.  I find it irrelevant.  Yes, I am Christian, but the age of the earth has nothing to do with whether or not I accept that my divine father created this world and all that is in it.  I used resources that were weighted for both young and old.  This is the logic stage of learning.  I wanted to encourage and teach my child to question, read, and infer.  I wanted an opinion to form and a decision to be made with all subject matter in hand.  This is but one content area that I find necessitates providing information for controversial topics.  In addition, to further continue and promote this growth, I use both Christian and secular, or independent, resources.  To me, the logic stage is more than knowledge, and this is a different form of mental growth.  Albeit, many of the topics or information have grown to include much more than the usual fact base provided during the grammar stage, but nonetheless, my goal is to let my child question, make connections, form opinions, and understand context.

With that said, I have provided a link to my first quarter plan.  You notice that it is centered on the Mystery of History, volume one.  As my husband and I considered the best way to approach ancient history, we decided that an approach that incorporated the Bible suited our design the best.  I have added in secular reading and literature resources where content is addressed.

Lastly, I have planned for ancient history to be completed in four quarters.  The duration is not the typical 36-week plan.  Instead, it is meant to be covered in a full year.  You may find that ancient history may last a year and a half.  I do not place constraints on learning.  We deviate far too often to discover or learn as interest desires.  I believe this is where the Charlotte-Mason method finds itself appearing in our social studies plans.  Otherwise, I try to stick to a more classical approach, but it is not a pure approach at all.

Download Ancient History Logic Stage Quarter One

Please add your comments!  I would like to encourage you to help me develop this plan for next fall.  Have you found better or more applicable resources that are well-suited for this early logic stage social studies plan?  What literature are you reading?  Please provide your reviews.  I am struggling to read everything now!

I find that I cannot leave this schedule along.  I have added suggestions from Netflix and PBS, to name but two.  Feel free to suggest other videos or provide commentary.

Also:

Ancient History Copywork

Timelines

Greek Mythology Scavenger Hunt (Task Cards and Key)

3 Comments

Filed under Lessons, Social Studies

3 responses to “Logic: Ancient History

  1. Pingback: Ancient History Copywork | The Learning Trunk

  2. Pingback: Ancient History Copywork | The Learning Trunk

  3. Heya fantastic website! Does running a blog like this take a massive amount work?
    I’ve absolutely no knowledge of computer programming but I was hoping to start my own blog in the near
    future. Anyway, should you have any recommendations or techniques
    for new blog owners please share. I understand this is off subject however
    I simply had to ask. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

