Great Scientist Study

Our first study of this type was the Great Artist Study.  Please visit this post to view the inside of the notebook.  Following the same design and plan for a study, we will study great scientists.

I chose to use Elemental Science’s Biology for the Logic Stage this year.  Science is planned for three days a week.  Two days of the week are devoted to biology while the third day is reserved for date entry, timeline additions, and the study of various scientists.  While reading the Elemental Science blog, I discovered a series devoted to great scientists – Great Scientist Series.  I happily donated my dollar and downloaded the resources that were made available by the Elemental Science author, Paige Hudson.

The series consists of four downloads: ancients, middle ages, early modern, and modern.  We are studying ancient history this year.  We are using Great Scientists of the Ancients.

I downloaded this resource.  I printed the text in black and white on my laser printer.  I printed a colored cover on cardstock.  Using a comb binder, I assembled a small booklet of less than 50 pages.

I am very pleased with the ease and simplicity of using a composition notebook, which is why our Great Artists Study uses one.  My child chose a composition notebook with a colorful pattern on the front. Together, we created a graphic for both the front of the book and the table of contents page.  I use wide, clear tape to fix the graphic to the cover of the book.  You could use clear contact paper as well.  We use a combination of glue sticks, double-sided tape, sticky dots, et cetera on the inside pages.  I do not use any thin or liquid type of glue.  This is just too messy for me!

I began researching books that correlate with the scientists and purchased several, including but not limited to What’s Your Angle Pythagoras? and Archimedes and the Door of Science.

I printed titles and pictures from sites like Wikimedia.  For example, I have clips of machines invented and a graphic of the Earth as the center of the universe.  Things that illustrate the scientist are what I sought, as well as some image of the scientist too.

I created copy-work as it is relevant, such as the Hippocratic Oath or Aristotle’s The Four Causes.

We will draw and sketch too.  My child will make sketches for Archimedes’ three forms of levers.

Use your imagination.

The photo below shows you the booklet, composition notebook, and resource packs that I created.  I do not use zippered plastic bags.  I use storage bags without the zipper.  I prefer them for separating items.  Each bag is for one scientist and contains all items needed, including books bought.  I include a list of websites and potential library references as well.  Visible to you are the resource packs for Hippocrates and Pythagoras.

These are the contents of the resource pack for the study of Pythagoras below.  Notice the small map of the world.  My child will mark the geographic location of the places traveled and lived in by the scientist being studied.

I keep everything together in a plastic portfolio.

I prefer simple.  I hope you enjoy our Easy Notebook Studies!

Let me know what you add or change.  Share your resources too.  I am still looking for age appropriate reading books for my child.

Leave a comment

Filed under Science

Leave a Reply

