All Things Timelines

Honestly, after feeling around on the web and researching timeline options, I do not think anyone ever finishes a timeline!  Why is that?

I know that for myself that I picture a beautiful and neat book full of marked events and historical figures.  However, I know that this is not likely.  I have used several methods, but recently, I wanted a bound book.  I am not sure. I do feel that it is delusive to assume that this book will be finished.  It seems that something far more condensed and simpler may be the solution.  I am looking at all manner of timeline styles and techniques.  We may continue with our timeline filing system this year, but I want to share what I have found anyway.

View Our Modern Timeline Portfolio Filing System 2010-2011

My Timeline Hunt

These are some of the options that I researched:

The above are packages.  They include the foundation, and in some cases, clip art for placement.  The clip art comes in a variety of styles and sizes.

I looked at blogs too:

I found this article while rummaging through Microsoft:

And yes, some more options, including posters and wall options:

My Thoughts

I know from past experience that there are some definite “NO’s” when trying to complete a timeline.  For example, bottled glues are never a good idea.  Pen is the worst kind of error commitment.  Fancy closures and folded pages are not a great idea too.  Pages will be and can be ripped and wrinkled, and maybe even need to be replaced.

Now, I think that it is important for it to have that old, historical feel to it.  It is the study of history.  I think that it should be big enough without being cumbersome, and lastly, it should be durable.

As my timeline search has led me down many paths, I discovered wall timeline options and DIY timelines too.  I found some to be very attractive, and I have linked them for you.  I noticed that while it is not a considerable cost savings that you could produce a book similar to many that could be purchased and shipped for 20-plus dollars.  I use a three-ringed notebook or comb binder to bind most things together, and you could do something very similar.  You could save some money but not a lot.

I find that a wall timeline is appealing, as well as the blank timelines that I found at Learning Through History.  I could use a blank timeline sheet for each civilization or continent that we study.  Once complete, these could be laminated too.  Being that they are only the length of two sheets of paper, I am not sure how adequate a solution this would be.  Note here that if I did use the method of documenting the evolution or progression of a civilization or culture, these sheets could be filed in a portfolio and matched chronologically on a wall or floor.  It would show the longevity of a culture as well as its involvement.  I will use these for marked events instead, including pre-history.

Prehistory Timeline

I purchased a pack of the blank timelines if for nothing else to be used to study pre-history and pre-historic times.  I will trace the lines with color, my child will decorate with marked evolution concepts, and we will decorate the back with summaries and outlines for that particular period of study.  Here are some other options:

Historical Figures

I am all about the ease of use.  I created many of our modern figures, and I know from experience that this is not ideal.  I found these:

Getting Dates

I had assumed that I would simply use our reading and spine for dates.  However, I would not be able to adequately demonstrate cultural events, and I would certainly forget to mark a historical event in favor of a figure, scientist or artist.  I found these resources:

I found Timelines Forum too!

I will continue to update this page as I research.  As of today, 8/20/2011, I have not made up my mind.  I am leaning heavily towards the poster or creating our own using a scrapbook/accounting ledger.

Updated Finds:

5 Comments

Filed under General, Lessons, Social Studies

5 responses to “All Things Timelines

  1. This is really awesome information! We are an afterschooling family, so I’ve never wanted to put up a giant timeline on the wall, but maybe we will make a book version….

  2. Thanks for such a comprehensive post on timelines! It’s good to know all the different ones available. Your first link to your “View Our Modern Timeline Portfolio Filing System 2010-2011” doesn’t work for me though. I’d love to see it.

  3. Pingback: Logic: Ancient History | The Learning Trunk

  4. Pingback: Ancient History Copywork | The Learning Trunk

Leave a Reply

