HST+ Unzipped

Homeschool Tracker Plus

I downloaded this promptly to my machine in August (2011). I must say that my arm was virtually twisted by the rave reviews across many websites and various forums. I will, at this point, affirm that it is a wonderful lesson planning program.

I double clicked the HST icon, and I was met with puzzlement. Clearly, this was not going to be one of my stumble-through-and-figure-it-out moments.

What do you do first?

Download the instruction manual.  The file is around 19MB, and it is worth the download for the instructions and pictures.  I will reference the manual as explain my steps to setting up our Homeschool Tracker.  On this page as well, you will have the option to view training videos, sample lessons, and screen shots of the Plus Edition.

Take a look at the screen.  The main tabs are Main Menu, Student, Teacher, Maintenance, and Reports.  I began by adding our personal education information.

1. School Information

Choose Maintenance -> School Info and enter your school name, address, motto, etc.  Choose your school days as well. (user manual page 7, Personalizing Homeschool Tracker Plus)  This makes your application personal to you.

2. School Year and Term

Choose Maintenance -> Years/Terms and create your school year, semesters, and quarters.  (user manual page 8, Adding a School year using the School Year Calculator) Prepare your holidays ahead of time.  You will follow the steps to create your year, and when prompted, you will designate your holidays.  Creating a school year is required in order to use other features.  Editing your year or any information on this tab can be completed manually.  (user manual page 12)   Selecting an item, right clicking, and choosing an “edit” option will allow for changes on most items within the application. Watch the video here.

You can add future years and terms for the purposes of planning.  I do.  I have entered the school year for the sixth grade already.  There are two methods that you can use to choose the current school year.  I use Tools -> Switch School Year to select my current year. (user manual pages 12-13)

3. Adding Students

Of course, you need a student!  You have a school and a school year, but you need to add your student(s).  Choose Maintenance -> Students to add all of your students. (user manual pages 13-19)  Note the cautions about using a nickname.  I entered all information except for the Social Security Number.  I err on the side of caution.  At any point in time, you can add information or change information to this tab by choosing the student name, right click, and select edit.

Optional entries of information include previous schools attended, activities and achievements, and standardized test scores.  Watch the video here.  You can edit the default student, or delete the default student once you have added a student.

4. Program Features

Press F3 or Tools -> Options to change options or enable those features that have been disabled. Watch the video here.

This is exactly how I began.  There was not a suggested order for setup.  I hope this helps you to progress naturally through preparing HST for your planning and record keeping.

(Coming Soon!) Read More

4 Comments

Filed under Lessons

4 responses to “HST+ Unzipped

  1. Pingback: My Lesson Plan Search | The Learning Trunk

  2. Hi, I really like your weblog. Is there something I can do to receive updates like a subscription or something? I am sorry I am not acquainted with RSS?

  3. Pingback: My Lesson Plan Search | The Learning Trunk

Leave a Reply

