More Than a Notebook

Cover Your Notebook

I am usually one to stick a label or print a square and paste to the cover.  However, I must say this proves to be as much fun as inserting the contents.  How to Make an Altered Composition Notebook

Creative Notebook Needs

Interactive Notebooking

This takes advantage of the Dinah Zike Books or lap-book elements.  While you may actually finish your lap-books without much struggle, I often find many of the components to be undesirable.  I find myself wishing that there were tidbits that I could isolate.  We began by adding lapbook elements to our Great Artist Study notebook, from Practical Pages.  (I am so glad that Practical Pages came to visit me!  We are enjoying the art lap-booking components.)

Using the lapbook items in our composition notebook provides us with the opportunity to index.  While a true interactive notebook has an input and output page , I am not near as strict with the process as long as we get things into the notebook and out of the mind.

Smashing

This is a wonderful way to add information to your notebook.  This will make the topic even more fun to study!  You continue to add elements, quotes, blurbs, etc.  This is more haphazard scrapbooks than actual notetaking or notebooking, which is usually more or less our style.

Where to find things to put in your notebooks?  I create and use a variety of resources, but these are my favorite places to visit first:

Dina Zike’s Books

Curriclick

Homeschool Share

2 Comments

Filed under General, Lessons, Resources

2 responses to “More Than a Notebook

  1. What lovely inspiration! I’ve found that when one offers kids a more open approach to notebooking, they become creative and develop their own style – much better than generic lapbooks. My kids each get the same templates, pictures and blank page and make it their own – lovely!

  2. We have enjoyed incorporating a bit of this and that from all of these places and techniques. Creativity flows and learning takes place. Our notebooks will not win first place for beauty, but they are packed full of learning!

    CM-styled summaries at their best. 🙂

    I love your art pages. Again, I just had to say thank you for the link!

Leave a Reply

